This is the "Home" page of the "Native Americans" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native Americans  

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2014 URL: http://mcpasd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=644020 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Trueflix

 
 
 
 
TrueFlix contains ebooks on
several Native American tribes. 
 
Login ID: egkmcpsd    
Password: trueflix
 

Legends and Folklore

Cover Art
The Legend of the Bluebonnet - Tomie dePaola
Call Number: 398.2 DEP
When a killing drought threatens the existence of the tribe, a courageous little Comanche girl sacrifices her most beloved possession--and the Great Spirit's answer results not only in much needed rain but a very special gift in return.

Cover Art
Little Firefly - Terri Cohlene
Call Number: 398.2 CHO
Reminiscent of the Cinderella story, this is the enchanting tale of a shy maiden who wins the heart of a great warrior despite her cruel and mocking older sisters.

Cover Art
Arrow to the Sun - Gerald McDermott
Call Number: 398.2 MCD
Gerald McDermott's version of the Pueblo Native American tale is strikingly illustrated with bold, warm colors and unique geometric figures in the style of Southwestern Native American art.

 

Native American Booklists

Colorincolorado Website

This site contains several booklists for children and young adults focused on the heritage, history, and contemporary communities of American Indians and First Nations Peoples.

 

KMS Nonfiction Books

Cover Art
The Northeast Indians - Janeen R. Adil
Call Number: 974 ADI
Provides an introduction to Native American tribes of the Northeast, including their social structure, homes, food, clothing, and traditions.

Cover Art
The Southeast Indians - Kathy Jo Slusher-Haas
Call Number: 975 SLU
Provides an introduction to Native American tribes of the Southeast, including their social structure, homes, clothing, food, and traditions.

Cover Art
The Southwest Indians - Mary Englar
Call Number: 976 ENG
Provides an introduction to Native American tribes of the Southwest, including their social structure, homes, clothing, food, and traditions.

Cover Art
The Northwest Indians - Judy Monroe
Call Number: 977 MON
Provides an introduction to Native American tribes of the Northwest, including their social structure, homes, food, clothing, and traditions.

Cover Art
The Great Plains Indians - Mary Englar
Call Number: 978 ENG
Provides an introduction to Native American tribes of the Great Plains, including their social structure, homes, food, clothing, and traditions.

Cover Art
The Great Basin Indians - Karen Bush Gibson
Call Number: 979 GIB
Provides an introduction to Native American tribes of the Great Basin, including their social structure, homes, food, clothing, and traditions.

 

KMS Fiction

Cover Art
The Birchbark House - Louise Erdrich
Call Number: F ERD
"[In this] story of a young Ojibwa girl, Omakayas, living on an island in Lake Superior around 1847, Louise Erdrich is reversing the narrative perspective used in most children's stories about nineteenth-century Native Americans. Instead of looking out at 'them' as dangers or curiosities, Erdrich, drawing on her family's history, wants to tell about 'us', from the inside.

Cover Art
Run Away Home - Patricia C. McKissack
Call Number: F MCK
In 1888 Alabama, young Sarah Jane witnesses an Apache boy jumping off a train headed for an Indian reservation, and a life he does not want. She hopes he'll run far -- everyone deserves to be free. Instead she finds him hiding in her family's barn dying of swamp fever. Sarah Jane and her mother nurse the boy, but realize they'll have to turn him over to authorities.

Cover Art
Sing down the Moon - Scott O'Dell
Call Number: F ODE
When Bright Morning takes her sheep to pasture, she gazes across the beautiful valley that is the home of her Navaho tribe and sees Spanish slavers riding straight toward her.

Cover Art
Children of the Longhouse - Joseph Bruchac
Call Number: F BRU
Eleven-year-old Ohkwa'ri and his twin sister must make peace with a hostile gang of older boys in their Mohawk village during the late 1400s.

Cover Art
Crooked River - Shelley Pearsall
Call Number: F PEA
ISBN: 9780440421016
The year is 1812. A white trapper is murdered. And a young Chippewa Indian stands accused.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip